NFL: Double Overtime Rules| Second Overtime Rules


With Friday night’s news that expected Alabama offensive coordinator Ryan Grubb is taking on the same role with the Seattle Seahawks, the search continues. Today we will discuss about NFL: Double Overtime Rules| Second Overtime Rules.

NFL: Double Overtime Rules| Second Overtime Rules

The National Football League (NFL) is a professional American football league consisting of 32 teams, divided equally between the American Football Conference (AFC) and the National Football Conference (NFC). The NFL is one of the major professional sports leagues in the United States and Canada and the highest professional level of American football in the world. Each NFL season begins with a three-week preseason in August, followed by an 18-week regular season that runs from early September to early January, with each team playing 17 games and one extra week. Following the conclusion of the regular season, seven teams from each conference (four division winners and three wild card teams) advance to the playoffs, a single-elimination tournament that culminates in the Super Bowl, which is played in February and consists of The middle is played. Winners of the AFC and NFC Championship Games.

Formerly American Professional Football Conference (1920)
American Professional Football Association
Sport American football
Founded September 17, 1920; 103 years ago
Canton, Ohio, U.S.[1][2]
Inaugural season 1920
Commissioner Roger Goodell
No. of teams 32
Country United States[A]
Headquarters 345 Park Avenue
New York, NY 10154
Most recent
Kansas City Chiefs
(4th title)
Most titles Green Bay Packers
(13 titles)
TV partner(s) United States[4]
NFL Network
Telemundo Deportes
ESPN Deportes
See list
Streaming partner(s) United States

Double Overtime Rules

NFL: Double Overtime Rules| Second Overtime Rules

If the score is still tied at the end of the overtime period – or if the other team’s initial possession has not ended – the teams will play another overtime period. The game will continue regardless of how many overtimes are required to determine the winner.

Second Overtime Rules

Super Bowl LVIII is in overtime, and is the first Super Bowl to be played under the NFL’s new playoff overtime rules.

In the playoffs, both teams are guaranteed possession. Even if the team receiving the overtime kickoff scores a touchdown, that team will punt and the other team will have a chance to score their own touchdown.

Unlike regular season overtime, postseason overtime uses 15-minute quarters, and is played like a brand new game. If the game is still tied after the second overtime, including halftime, which has never happened in NFL history. However, there will be no second usher performance: the overtime halftime is short.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here