Indy 500: Prize money 2024| Who won| Winner 2024


Josef Newgarden won the 2024 Indianapolis 500, becoming the first back-to-back winner in more than 20 years. Today we will discuss about Indy 500: Prize money 2024| Who won| Winner 2024.

Indy 500: Prize money 2024| Who won| Winner 2024

The Indianapolis 500, formally known as the Indianapolis 500-Mile Race, and often called the Indy 500, is an annual automobile race held at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Speedway, Indiana, United States. (IMS), which is an enclave. suburb of indianapolis. The event is traditionally held on Memorial Day weekend, usually the last weekend in May. It is contested as part of the IndyCar Series, the top level of American open-wheel car racing, colloquially known as “Indy car racing”. The track is nicknamed the “Brickyard”, because the racing surface was paved with bricks in late 1909. A brick yard remains open at the start/finish line. The event, billed as the greatest spectacle in racing, is considered part of the Triple Crown of Motorsport along with the 24 Hours of Le Mans and the Monaco Grand Prix, with which it usually shares a date.

IndyCar Series
Venue Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Location Speedway, Indiana, U.S.
Corporate sponsor Gainbridge Insurance Agency (2019–present)
First race 1911
First IndyCar race 1996
Distance 500 miles (805 km)
Laps 200
Previous names 500-Mile International Sweepstakes (1911–1915, 1920–1941, 1946–1980)
300-Mile International Sweepstakes (1916)
Liberty Sweepstakes (1919)
Most wins (driver) A. J. Foyt (4)
Al Unser (4)
Rick Mears (4)
Hélio Castroneves (4)
Most wins (team) Penske (20)
Most wins (manufacturer) Chassis: Dallara (22)
Engine: Offenhauser (27)
Tires: Firestone (81)
Circuit information
Surface Asphalt
Length 2.5 mi (4.0 km)
Turns 4
Lap record 37.895 sec (237.498 mph; 382.182 km/h) (Arie Luyendyk, Reynard/Ford-Cosworth XB, 1996)

Prize money 2024

Indy 500: Prize money 2024| Who won| Winner 2024

The winner’s prize money has not yet been announced, but is expected to be around $3.66 million based on last year’s total. Winnings have increased for three consecutive years, so it’s possible the prize fund will exceed $4 million this year.

Prize money depends on several factors, including sponsorship, laps led and pole winners. This is not as straightforward as other major events such as the PGA Championship, where the winner receives a certain percentage of the purse.

Who won

Josef Newgarden wins the Indy 500 in a stunning last lap battle with Pato O’Ward. Newgarden is a consecutive Indy 500 winner.

Winner 2024

The reigning Indy 500 champion is now back-to-back champion.

Josef Newgarden battled Pato O’Ward in the closing laps of the 2024 Indy 500 on Sunday as the Team Penske and Arrows McLaren drivers traded blows for the lead multiple times as laps ended in the 108th running of the legendary race.

But with a final pass on the white flag lap, Newgarden became the sixth driver to win consecutive Indianapolis 500s, giving team owner and Indianapolis Motor Speedway president Roger Penske his 20th victory in “the greatest spectacle in racing.”

Newgarden is the first driver to win the Indy 500 in consecutive years since four-time winner Hélio Castroneves in 2001 and 2002.

Newgarden emerged from his car into the stands to greet fans in Indianapolis, who endured a four-hour delay due to rain, before hugging his wife Ashley.

“Incredible. I love this crowd,” said an exhausted but happy Newgarden. “To be honest, it made me more tired than the race itself.